History of Es Castell
Es Castell, formerly known as Villacarlos, is a municipality located in the eastern part of Menorca, near Mahón. Founded by the British in 1771 during one of their occupations of the island, its original name was Georgetown, in honor of King George III. The British built a fortification called Fort Marlborough, which can still be visited today. Later, the Spanish changed its name to Villacarlos, in honor of King Carlos III. The name Es Castell derives from the presence of various fortifications and castles in the municipality, reflecting its strategic and military importance throughout history.